Up in the air

Not quite like the movie (but what I good movie!)

Cindy leaving for Zambia

I left about 24 hours ago for Zambia and now here I am. I sort of enjoyed the trip. I’ve been flying to Asia and Africa for over a couple of decades now and most of the time, I was definitely focused on just getting the trip over with so I could get to wherever I was going,  but I think I’m finally slowing down a bit and trying to enjoy the journey and the destination. In my new job I no longer fly business class and it doesn’t even really bother me. I was always adamant about the advantages of business class to help you get enough rest so you can work  better when you get there, but I think I’m changing my mind. I think if you are not so stressed before you get on a plane, that counts for a lot as well. I’m not saying that those great seats in business class didn’t look inviting after a 15 hour flight to Johannesberg from Atlanta, but given the huge cost saving in flying coach, I’m not sure it is worth it. Hard to believe I am saying this, but I am.

One thing I always have thought about long flights is that because you are usually cut off from most communications during that time (though this is changing), you can switch some things off and pay attention to magazine articles or books…so at some point in a long flight…when I’m not sleeping…my thinking is usually a bit more expansive than the usual day to day stuff…today I read (very quickly) Michael Pollan’s book, Food Rules. I also listened to a Deepak Chopra audiobook while I slept and afterwards…so that might have had something to do with a more mellow frame of mind. (Plus, all the flights left on time, my bag got here ok and I have a room with a nice view.)

I didn’t take a lot of photos during the trip. I’m a little intimidated to be obviously taking photos, but I don’t know why. I thought my iPhone camera (which is a very good camera) would be less obvious but I can’t upload them til I get home because I don’t have international roaming on it. But here are a few photos.

Bead statue of Nelson Mandela Beadwork close-up

 This was a very tall statue of Nelson Mandela made out of beads. It was very sweet to see all the kids come up and sort of instictively take his hand.

Beadwork close up

All the way there

Here I am in the self-portrait in the mirror…checked into my hotel…too jet lagged to sleep yet.

One Response to “Up in the air”

  1. readingrisa Says:

    Cindy…this is great. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately, wanting to grab a cup of coffee and catch up and then I checked your blog and see you’re traveling. So nice to be able to follow your travels this way. Let me know when you return and we’ll meet up. Enjoy your trip.

Leave a Reply

